Forum Discussion

KrisShenenbe782
Community Member
3 months ago

Javascript with Text Entry Fields Help

Hi all. I'm new to javascript and have inherited a project that I'm having trouble with, especially with Jaws. 

When a learner lands on a slide, this is what should happen:

• Text entry field is enabled.
  • Learner types in field, presses enter to get feedback.
    • 1st incorrect entry, gives try again feedback and focus goes back to text entry field when layer is closed.
    • 2nd incorrect entry, gives feedback and the Continue button goes to next slide.
    • Correct entry goes to next slide.

I've attached a few slides from the original project. It seems like there may be more triggers than necessary, but I'm not sure. Would anyone have time to take a look at the triggers and help me make changes, if necessary? 

I also need help with making it properly readable with Jaws, but one step at a time. Thank you so much!

AndrewHanley
    Community Member

Hi Kris,

I'm not in front of my computer so can't check out your story file. 

However, the desired scenario you are describing sounds quite straightforward and might even be an inbuilt Storyline feature! (Text entry graded question)

But am I right on saying that what you need is for the text entry field to "have focus" as soon as the slide starts? I.e. when the slide starts, the user can immediately start typing in to the text field without first clicking the text field?

• Hi there. I wasn't clear in my message. It's reading the text entry field. What's happening is on the first slide it reads the text and text entry field. When user types the correct text, the activity goes to the next slide and it just goes right to the text entry field. It doesn't read the text that's before the field. I can't figure out why. Also, it looks like I forgot to include the commands to type so you can test it out:

1. logi
    2. admin2
    3. 0000
    4. ld 2 (lowercase "l" and this is the last slide)