Forum Discussion

AmandaEspino164
Community Member
4 days ago

Adding Up Slider Values for Self-Assessment

Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to variables and conditions and can't seem to figure out how to troubleshoot the following:

I've created a self-assessment and want the first 15 sliders to be totaled up so that the user receives custom feedback based on their responses. 

So far, I've created a "runningtotal" variable, but can't seem to get them to add up so that ther results are customized. 

Any experienced, bigger brains than mine are greatly appreciated! (: 

-Amanda

• You don't need any triggers to set the value of a slider to the value of whatever number the user selects. 

• When you insert a slider, Storyline automatically creates a numeric variable for the slider's value. (It was a good idea to rename your variables to something more meaningful than "Slider[#].") 
    • The variable automatically resets when the slider is moved to another position. 
    • BTW, you can also move the slider with a trigger that adjusts that variable. 

As for the layers not showing, that's probably because you have the show-layer triggers set to run when the timeline starts for an object called Results Slide 1

I don't even see that object on the slide, and I can't explain why it's showing up in the Trigger Wizard. 

In any case, the show-layer triggers should be set to run when the timeline starts on the Results slide. That would show up as "this slide" in the trigger, just like it does for the calculation triggers. 

• You don't need any triggers to set the value of a slider to the value of whatever number the user selects. 

• When you insert a slider, Storyline automatically creates a numeric variable for the slider's value. (It was a good idea to rename your variables to something more meaningful than "Slider[#].") 
    • The variable automatically resets when the slider is moved to another position.